Spain - Navarra

Navarra, in northern Spain, is one of the country’s 17 first-level administrative regions (comunidades autónomas) and prolific wine region. Navarra DO was created in 1933 covers the entire southern half of the region (almost everything south of the administrative capital, Pamplona).

The geography is diverse and a number of different features affect the region’s vines and climate. Its proximity to the Bay of Biscay (Atlantic Ocean) in the northwest, the Pyrenees in the northeast and the Ebro River all combine to moderate temperatures created by the effects of the Mediterranean climate. This huge diversity across the region has led to the creation of five sub-zones and small section of Navarra is classified as Rioja DOC with which it shares a border on the west.

Red grape vines, for production of tinto and rosado, represent 95% of the all vines planted in the DO, though this percentage is decreasing as more white varieties are planted. The authorised red varieties are Graciano, Tempranillo and Cabernet Sauvignon but Garnacha, Merlot and Mazuelo are also permitted; Viura is the only official white grape but Chardonnay, Garnacha blanca, Malvasia and Moscatel  are also planted.

Products from this region

  • Luzador Los Andreses


    ‘Luzador’ is a warrior of the sun – a fighter for the light. ‘Los…

    View more